You are here

The Boris Dubrovin Medal

Boris Dubrovin The Boris Dubrovin medal, in memory of Boris Anatolievich Dubrovin, Professor at SISSA from 1993 to 2019, is awarded by SISSA, with the support of the Moscow Mathematical Society, the “Gruppo Nazionale per la Fisica Matematica” (GNFM) and the “Gruppo Nazionale per le Strutture Algebriche, Geometriche e le loro Applicazioni” (GNSAGA), which are part of the Istituto Nazionale di Alta Matematica (INDAM). Boris Dubrovin made several groundbreaking contributions to mathematical physics, with far-reaching influences in various areas of mathematics,  see e.g. the obituary. Possibly one of his best-known inventions is the definition of Frobenius manifolds (which we ought now to refer to as "Dubrovin-Frobenius manifolds"). Their formalization built a surprising bridge between mathematical physics and differential, algebraic and symplectic geometry. The medal recognizes exceptionally promising young researchers who have already made outstanding contributions to the fields of mathematical physics and geometry. The Dubrovin medal will be awarded every two years starting from 2020.

The statutes of the Boris Dubrovin medal can be found here.

2024 Edition

Winners of the edition 2024

Soheyla Feyzbakhsh for her impressive results in algebraic geometry, with relevant implications for mathematical physics, in particular string theory. In addition to completing and generalizing Mukai's program on K3 surfaces, she has introduced innovative methods in enumerative geometry, using stability conditions on derived categories, leading to spectacular results for Calabi-Yau 3-folds. In particular, Feyzbakhsh's work establishes that Donaldson- Thomas (DT) theory in any rank is governed by rank one theory, and thus Gromov- Witten (GW) invariants. Moreover, she shows that DT and GW invariants are determined by rank zero DT invariants. The medal also acknowledges the far- reaching impact that these results are going to have on both enumerative algebraic geometry and mathematical physics. 

Pierrick Bousseau for the originality, complexity, and relevance of his remarkable contributions in enumerative algebraic geometry and mirror symmetry, and their profound implications for mathematical physics. These include connections between refined tropical curve counts and higher genus log Gromov-Witten counts of toric surfaces; a proof of the Takahashi conjecture via a new sheaf/curve correspondence; substantial contributions to holomorphic Floer theory and its relation to Donaldson-Thomas theory; the extension of the log-local principle in Gromov-Witten theory to all genera and to Looijenga pairs; and a remarkable advance in the solution of the Gromov-Witten theory of smooth complete intersections. 

Selection Committee

Prof. Victor Buchstaber (Moscow State University and Moscow Mathematical Society), Prof. Stavros Garoufalidis (International center for Mathematics, Southern University of Science and Technology), Prof. Davide Guzzetti (SISSA), Prof. Vieri Mastropietro (GNFM and University of Milano), Prof. Youjin Zhang (Tsinghua University).



The sponsors of the 2024 Dubrovin medal are the Letters in Mathematical Physics and SISSA Medialab.             


Previous editions

Sign in